Invisible

The first post is the lyrics of a track called Invisible by boy band Public Demand. The track was released in 1996 and the band featured Lifford Shillingford who went on to have major success with Artful Dodger’s Please Don’t Turn Me On, and Lifford still records and performs today. The lyrics are a poignant account of a young black man’s view of a racist world where he does not fit in – 30 years after the Race Relations Act was initiated in the UK.

View the song video here

Invisible Lyrics

A sea of empty faces, with hearts as cold as stone
Look into eyes that don’t see, I feel so all alone
No-one seems to care, no-one wants to look into the light

There’s a baby crying, but no-one wants to know
Her mother made a wrong turn, down a dead end road
Now she’s lost in her own tears, there’s got to be a better way of life, oh no

I feel like I’m invisible, is that what I am
I walk through this world, like an invisible man
I can’t take it, I can’t fake it
Got to be a better way of life (said there’s got to be a better way of life)

I call out for a taxi, but he just drives on by
And as he passed me, I looked him in his eyes
Do you feel at all, or am I out of sight or out of mind, ohhhh

I feel like I’m in my own world, with people just like me
Caught in a bubble, I’m losing sanity
Feel like I’m falling faster, but still I won’t give up the fight, oh no

I feel like I’m invisible, that’s how I feel
You look right through me as if I’m not real
I won’t give in, this ain’t living, got to be a better way of life

Got to be a better way of life, feels like I’m going to lose my mind
I need to know the reason why, I, I, I, I feel like I’m invisible
Is that what I am, walk through this world like an invisible man
I can’t take it, I can’t fake it, got to be a better way of life, for me and you

I know I’m not invisible, that’s how I feel
You look right through me as if I’m not real

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

